2010 National League Divisional Series, Game # 3: Sweep Revenge. The Phils sweep the Reds behind Cole Hamels.

The Phils got revenge for their 1976 lost to the Big Red Machine as they sweep the Reds behind the five-hit complete game pitching of Cole Hamels, as they defeat the Reds 2-0. They will now have to await the outcome of the Braves-Giants series to see who their opponent will be in the League Championship series.

The Phils took a 1-0 in the first as, with runners on the corners, and with two men out, Placido Polanco, who had earlier singled, then went to third on Ryan Howard’s single, scored on Reds’ shortstop Orlando Cabrera’s throwing error of Jayson Werth’s grounder, while Howard, who had just singled, would move up to third on the play. The Phils increased their lead to 2-0 in the fifth as, with two men out, Chase Utley hits a solo home run, his first home run of the post-season, a homer that was later upheld by the umpires after Reds’ manager Dusty Baker had asked for it to be reviewed for possible fan interference. That would be all of the offense that Phils’ starter Cole Hamels would need as he proceeded to pitch a complete game five-hit shut out, giving up a lead-off single to Drew Stubbs in the first, a two-out single to Jay Bruce in the second, a one-out single to Scott Rolen in the fourth, a two-out double to Ramon Hernandez in the seventh and a lead-off single to Brandon Phillips in the ninth, before he is wiped out at second base on a 4-6-3 doubleplay on a Joey Votto ground ball, before he ended the game by getting Rolen to strike out, swinging, Hamels’ ninth strikeout victim.

Cole Hamels gets the win as he pitches a complete game shut out, giving up five hits, while striking out nine. His record is now 1-0 with a 0.00 ERA. Johnny Cueto took the lost as he pitches five innings, giving up two runs, only one of which was earned, on five hits and a walk, while he strikes out two. His record is now 0-1 with a 1.80 ERA. Homer Bailey, Bill Bray, Nick Masset and Aroldis Chapman combine for four scoreless innings, giving up three hits (Bailey (2), Chapman (1)), while striking out four, (Bailey (2), Bray (1), Masset (1)) between them.

The Phils had eight hits in the game, with Ryan Howard and Carlos Ruiz both leading the team with two hits apiece, with Howard’s hits being both singles, while Ruiz’s hits were a single and a double. Shane Victorino, Placido Polanco, Chase Utley and Jimmy Rollins had the other four Phils’ hits, with Victorino, Placido and Rollins’ hits being singles and Utley’s hit being a solo home run. The Phils’ offense did not do much hitting in the series, but they took advantage of a lot of Reds’ mistakes.

The Phils (3-0) with the win advance to the 2010 National League Championship Series, doing so for the third year in a row. The win also gives them a revenge sweep for their lost back in 1976 by the Big Red Machine, when they were swept by the then world champs. The Phils will now prepare to meet the winner of the Braves-Giants series, which presently have the Giants in the lead, 2 games to 1.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s