Tagged: National League Manager of the Year Award

Charlie Manuel finishes second in NL Manager of the Year Award Ballotting.

Charlie Manuel finishes a distance second to Cubs’ Manager Lou Piniella (103 votes), who has now won his third Manager of the Year Award, the first time as a National League manager. Manuel, whose Phillies team has won its second straight National League Eastern Division pennant during the regular season, before going on to win the 2008 World Series, would receive from the Baseball Writers eight first place ballots, six second place ballots and nine third place ballots for a total of 67 points, putting him in second place in the voting.

2008 NL Manager of the Year Award Voting
Manager, Club 1st 2nd 3rd Points
Lou Piniella, CHC 15 8 4 103
Charlie Manuel, PHI 8 6 9 67
Fredi Gonzalez, FLA 5 6 5 48
Joe Torre, LAD 3 8 6 45
Tony La Russa, STL 1 1 3 11
Jerry Manuel, NYM   3 1 10
Cecil Cooper, HOU     3 3
Dale Sveum, MIL     1 1

 (Ballot: H/T MLB.com)